IACEE 2021

IACEE Award for Individual Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given in Memory of Joseph M. Biedenbach

IACEE confers the Biedenbach Award to:

Dr. Nelson C. Baker
Georgia Institute of Technology (Atlanta, Georgia, USA)

In recognition of outstanding commitment and support to continuing engineering education.

Nelson leads through example in his wisdom and humility.

  • The exemplary leadership, vision, and impact of Nelson in
    CEE is well known through his work and positions held at Georgia Tech, IACEE and UPCEA.
  • He is held in the highest regard among colleagues and in the industry of continuing education around the world.
  • He empowers and supports others to step up to the seeds of any challenges that he highlights.
  • His “what if” notions were, largely responsible for the creation of the Porto Declaration and thereby SERINA.

Dr. Joseph M. (Joe) Biedenbach was one of three American CEE leaders who “invented” the series of World Conferences on CEE that was begun in Mexico City in 1979. Joe had a distinguished career in CEE and used his outstanding talent as a visionary, conference organizer, and friend to have a major impact on CEE from the sixties through the early nineties in ASEE, IEEE, and IACEE. Probably no other figure in CEE in the US was as beloved as Joe and as respected for his selfless giving to the profession. Joe’s activity in creating the World Conferences led to the founding of IACEE at the Fourth WCCEE in Beijing in 1989. His last professional position was as a Chaired Professor of Continuing Engineering Education at the University of South Carolina, where he died suddenly in April, 1990 at the age of 63. Shortly thereafter, IACEE honored his memory by naming its only award (at that time) after him.

IACEE Award for Corporate Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given in Memory of Glen L. Martin

IACEE confers the Martin Award to:

The Norwegian Public Roads Administration

In recognition of outstanding commitment and support to continuing engineering education.

NPRA strives to ensure that all those who walk, cycle, travel by car or use public transport should get to their destination safely.

  • NPRA is known for the development of its employees.
  • The organisation sponsored the development of an experience-based master’s degree in road and railways at the Norwegian University of Technology and Science (NTNU).
  • They worked closely in the development of the programme and successfully implemented it to develop their employees. They have established a long-lasting cooperation in research and continuing education between NPRA and NTNU.
Dr. Glen L. Martin was the first Industrial Organizations & Companies representative to serve on the IACEE Council after the founding of IACEE in Beijing in 1989. Glen had a long career in engineering education that included serving as Dean of Engineering at San Diego State University. Glen was a “warrior” for the establishment of closer ties between industry and academe, a passion that led him to become Director of Professional Development for the engineering consulting firm CH2MHill. He died suddenly at age 59 while attending the IACEE Council Meeting in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in 1991. The Council subsequently chose to honor his memory by naming IACEE’s principal corporate award after him.

IACEE Fellow Awards

The International Association for Continuing Engineering Education Fellow Award is granted to recognise an individual who has:

  • given sustained and outstanding service over an extended period
  • proactiveliy advanced/supported the development of IACEE

This year, two individuals will be receiving the IACEE Fellow Award.

The IACEE Fellow Award 2021 is granted to:

Wu Xiujun

for outstanding commitment and support of IACEE

Kim Scalzo

for outstanding commitment and support of IACEE

IACEE Special Recognitions for Excellence in Service or Extraordinary Contributions

The IACEE Special Recognition acknowledges excellence in service and/or extraordinary contributions of an individual who has made a significant impact in progressing the objectives of the organisation.

Special Recognition Awards are given to:

Anders Hagström

For excellence in Service in the formative years of the organization

Tony Smith

For extraordinary contributions to the Organization in Global Sustainability initiatives