IACEE 2021
Program

Main time is given in UTC+2 (Madrid, Paris, Berlin, Oslo etc.). Times are also listed in other selected timezones.

Monday 24 May

Workshop I

UTC+2: 16:00 – 19:00
Beijing: 22:00 – 01:00
London: 15:00 – 18:00
Mexico City: 09:00 – 12:00
New York City: 10:00 – 13:00
San Francisco: 07:00 – 10:00
Sydney: 00:00 – 03:00 (25 May)

Affordable Online Programs at Scale
Yakut Gazi, Georgia Tech
Nelson Baker, Georgia Tech
More about workshop I

Tuesday 25 May

Workshop II

UTC+2: 16:00 – 19:00
Beijing: 22:00 – 01:00
London: 15:00 – 18:00
Mexico City: 09:00 – 12:00
New York City: 10:00 – 13:00
San Francisco: 07:00 – 10:00
Sydney: 00:00 – 03:00 (26 May)

Effective LLL Centers Leadership
Patricio Montesinos Sanchis, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia
Paul Marca, Stanford University
Ed Borbely, University of Wisconsin-Madison
More about workshop II

Wednesday 26 May

Conference day 1:  “Sustainability”

UTC+2: 12:30 – 13:00
Beijing: 18:30 – 19:00
London: 11:30 – 12:00
Mexico City: 05:30 – 06:00
New York City: 06:30 – 07:00
San Francisco: 03:30 – 04:00
Sydney: 20:30 – 21:00

Get to know other participants and visit exhibitors

UTC+2: 13:00 – 14:00
Beijing: 19:00 – 20:00
London: 12:00 – 13:00
Mexico City: 06:00 – 07:00
New York City: 07:00 – 08:00
San Francisco: 04:00 – 05:00
Sydney: 21:00 – 22:00

Opening plenary
Formal Welcome
State Secretary Aase Marthe Johansen Horrigmo, Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research
Anne Borg, Rector of NTNU
Keynote: Sustainability
Dr. Carol O’Donnel, Smithsonian Institute
SERINA by Tony Smith, IACEE & University of Tasmania
Panel about Sustainability and SERINA
Panel moderator: Warren Kennard, ConnectEd
Panelists:
Dr. Carol O’Donnell, Smithsonian Inst.
Tony Smith, IACEE & University of Tasmania
Geir Graff, Asker Municipality, Norway
Dan Vigdor, HackerU

CET+2: 14:00 – 14:15
Beijing: 20:00 – 20:15
London: 13:00 – 13:15
Mexico City: 07:00 – 07:15
New York City: 08:00 – 08:15
San Francisco: 05:00 – 05:15
Sydney: 22:00 – 22:15

Social networking function

UTC+2: 14:15 – 15:15
Beijing: 20:15 – 21:15
London: 13:15 – 14:15
Mexico City: 07:15 – 08:15
New York City: 08:15 – 09:15
San Francisco: 05:15 – 06:15
Sydney: 22:15 – 23:15

Parallel session 1 – Research/Work in progress

Track 1: Innovation Chair: Patricio Montesinos (ES)

paper # 11 “An Analysis of Interactive Learning Methodology in Engineering Education Respond to the AI Challenges”
Fu Zhong Li, National University of Defense Technology
Wen Jia Wang, National University of Defense Technology

paper # 27 “Dialectical logic and Experimental Research on Innovative Leadership”
Min Zhong, School of Continuing Education, Tsinghua University
Yousheng Zhang, Office of Development and Planning, Tsinghua University

paper # 41“Flexible Reciprocal Learning in Sustainable Higher Design Education”
Suzanne Brink, The Hague University of Applied Sciences/Leiden University

Track 2: Sustainability Chair: Aniko Kalman (HU)

paper # 16 “The nature of IACEE’s SERINA’s content, relative to the Association’s 2016 Porto Declaration”
Anthony (Tony) Smith, IACEE and University of Tasmania

paper # 10 “Designing Authentic School-Based Professional Development and Learning for Faculty and the School Wide Community”
Diana Ibarra, The ISF Academy

Track 3: Inclusion Chair: Ellen Sjoer

paper # 44 “Students’ Perspective on the Impact of Cultural and Ethnic Diversity in STEM Education”
Nishta Tiwari, Board of European Students of Technology

paper # 36 “Beautiful Patterns: empowering young women through education in Computational Thinking”
Abel Sanchez, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

paper # 43 “Sex Education Campaigns as a Solution for Responsible Consumption and Gender Equalities: A Look into Menstruation and Sustainable Development”
Ana Bárbara Garza Fuentes, Tecnológico de Monterrey
Giovanna Leticia Gómez Anguiano, Tecnológico de Monterrey

UTC+2: 15:15 – 15:45
Beijing: 21:15 – 21:45
London: 14:15 – 14:45
Mexico City: 08:15 – 08:45
New York City: 09:15 – 09:45
San Francisco: 06:15 – 06:45
Sydney: 23:15 – 23:45

Visit Exhibitors

UTC+2: 15:45 – 16:15
Beijing: 21:45 – 22:15
London: 14:45 – 15:15
Mexico City: 08:45 – 09:15
New York City: 09:45 – 10:15
San Francisco: 06:45 – 07:15
Sydney: 23:45 – 00:15

Technology Showcase

A Secure Part of the Program Portfolio: Cybersecurity and Long-Term Trends

Desiree Young, University of Miami
Jim Fong, UPCEA Center for Research and Strategy
Dan Vigdor, HackerU

FEANI – the largest European Engineers Federation – and its future role and mission to be a bridge between European academia and industry

Dirk Bochar, European Engineers Federation (FEANI)

UTC+2: 16:15 – 16:20
Beijing: 22:15 – 22:20
London: 15:15 – 15:20
Mexico City: 09:15 – 09:20
New York City: 10:15 – 10:20
San Francisco: 07:15 – 07:20
Sydney: 00:15 – 00:20

Break

UTC+2: 16:20 – 17:20
Beijing: 22:20 – 23:20
London: 15:20 – 16:20
Mexico City: 09:20 – 10:20
New York City: 10:20 – 11:20
San Francisco: 07:20 – 08:20
Sydney: 00:20 – 01:20 (Thu)

Plenary Panel
“Driving a sustainable digital strategy for higher education; seeing the world from the learners point of view”
Panel moderator: Ed Borbely, UiWisconsin
Panelists:
Ragna Ann Berge, NTNU
Yakut Gazi, GeorgiaTech
Diane Landsiedel, University of Michigan
Paul Marca, IACEE
Joe Lamb, Pearson
Kim Scalzo, SUNY

UTC+2: 17:20 – 17:35
Beijing: 23:20 – 23:35
London: 16:20 – 16:35
Mexico City: 10:20 – 10:35
New York City: 11:20 – 11:35
San Francisco: 08:20 – 08:35
Sydney: 01:20 – 01:35 (Thu)

Day 1 summary

UTC+2: 17:45 – 18:45
Beijing: 23:45 – 00:45
London: 16:45 – 17:45
Mexico City: 10:45 – 11:45
New York City: 11:45 – 12:45
San Francisco: 08:45 – 09:45
Sydney: 01:45 – 02:45 (Thu)

IACEE General Assembly
Awards:
1. IACEE Award for Individual Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given In Memory of Joseph M. Biedenbach
2. IACEE Award for Corporate Leadership in Continuing Engineering Education given in Memory of Glen L. Martin
3. IACEE Fellow Award

Thursday 27 May

Conference day 2 “Innovation”

UTC+2: 08:30 – 09:00
Beijing: 14:30 – 15:00
London: 07:30 – 08:00
Mexico City: 01:30 – 02:00
New York City: 02:30 – 03:00
San Francisco: 23:30 – 00:00 (Wed)
Sydney: 16:30 – 17:00

Get to know other participants and visit exhibitors

UTC+2: 09:00 – 10:00
Beijing: 15:00 – 16:00
London: 08:00 – 09:00
Mexico City: 02:00 – 03:00
New York City: 03:00 – 04:00
San Francisco: 00:00 – 01:00
Sydney: 17:00 – 18:00

Plenary keynote & panel: Innovation
Introduction
Paul Marca
Keynotes: Innovation
Berit Svendsen, VIPPS
Patrick Brothers, Holon IQ
Panel moderator: Nelson C. Baker, Georgia Tech
Panelists:
Berit Svendsen, VIPPS
Patrick Brothers , Holon IQ
Geir Egil Øien, NTNU

UTC+2: 10:00 – 10:15
Beijing: 16:00 – 16:15
London: 09:00 – 09:15
Mexico City: 03:00 – 03:15
New York City: 04:00 – 04:15
San Francisco: 01:00 – 01:15
Sydney: 18:00 – 18:15

Social networking function

UTC+2: 10:15 – 11:15
Beijing: 16:15 – 17:15
London: 09:15 – 10:15
Mexico City: 03:15 – 04:15
New York City: 04:15 – 05:15
San Francisco: 01:15 – 02:15
Sydney: 18:15 – 19:15

Parallel session 2 – Best Practices

Track 1: Innovation Chair: Geir Øien (NO)

paper # 37 “Lifelong Learning and Continuing Professional Development in STEM – Innovation, Sustainability, Inclusion”
Claes Fredriksson, Ansys Granta

paper # 30 “Lifelong Learning to identify and integrate competences and tools for Innovation management. The Innovation Process Map.”
Patricio Montesinos Sanchis, Universidad Politécnica de VALENCIA

paper # 17 “A Case Study: Coaching in the Sinopec’s Middle-level Managers Training Programs”
Caixia Wang, Sinopec Management Institute
Liyun Wang, Sinopec Management Institute

Track 2: Sustainability Chair: Tony Smith

paper # 38 “Social Life Cycle Assessment of Products Manufacturing for Practising Engineers”
Soma Chakrabarti, Ansys Granta

paper # 13 “Sustainable Dual-qualification Teacher Training Program of Cross-border Ecommerce in the Eco-system Perspective”
Hong-Chao Ding, Guangzhou Panyu Polytechnic

paper # 07 “Leveraging CE to Transform the University: Exploring the Implications of a 60 Year Curriculum”
Amrit Ahluwallia, The EvoLLLution, Canada

Track 3: Inclusion Chair: Barbara Harvey

paper # 53 “How CEE professionals plan, develop and sustain their careers and competence.”
Katriina Schrey-Niemenmaa, Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK /HRPLUS
Kirsti Miettinen, Rastor-instituutti

paper # 55 “Internationalization as a key for social innovation and entrepreneurship”
Ana Soriano, Tecnologico de Monterrey

UTC+2: 11:15 – 11:20
Beijing: 17:15 – 17:20
London: 10:15 – 10:20
Mexico City: 04:15 – 04:20
New York City: 05:15 – 05:20
San Francisco: 02:15 – 02:20
Sydney: 19:15 – 19:20

Short Break

UTC+2: 11:20 – 11:50
Beijing: 17:20 – 17:50
London: 10:20 – 10:50
Mexico City: 04:20 – 04:50
New York City: 05:20 – 05:50
San Francisco: 02:20 – 02:50
Sydney: 19:20 – 19:50

IACEE Awards

IACEE presents three awards at each World Conference. Award recipients are selected by the IACEE Council.

More about the IACEE Awards

UTC+2: 11:50 – 11:55
Beijing: 17:50 – 17:55
London: 10:50 – 10:55
Mexico City: 04:50 – 04:55
New York City: 05:50 – 05:55
San Francisco: 02:50 – 02:55
Sydney: 19:50 – 19:55

Short Break

UTC+2: 11:55 – 12:55
Beijing: 17:55 – 18:55
London: 10:55 – 11:55
Mexico City: 04:55 – 05:55
New York City: 05:55 – 06:55
San Francisco: 02:55 – 03:55
Sydney: 19:55 – 20:55

Plenary – panel
Today’s Learners and the Future of Higher Education: Six Recommendations for Remaining Relevant, Innovative, and Sustainable.

Introduction:
Dr Nelson Baker, GeorgiaTech

Panelists:
Dr Amy Heitzman, UPCEA (US)
Dr Nelson Baker, GeorgiaTech
Dr Richard Novak, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey (US
Dr Nancy Coleman
Dr Adam Fein, University of North Texas (US)
Dr Rovy Branon

UTC+2: 12:55 – 13:10
Beijing: 18:55 – 19:10
London: 11:55 – 12:10
Mexico City: 05:55 – 06:10
New York City: 06:55 – 07:10
San Francisco: 03:55 – 04:10
Sydney: 20:55 – 21:10

Day 2 summary

Friday 28 May

Conference day 3 “Inclusion”

NOTE! Program still under construction

UTC+2: 14:30 – 15:00
Beijing: 20:30 – 21:00
London: 13:30 – 14:00
Mexico City: 07:30 – 08:00
New York City: 08:30 – 09:00
San Francisco: 05:30 – 06:00
Sydney: 22:30 – 23:00

Get to know other participants and visit exhibitors

UTC+2: 15:00 – 16:00
Beijing: 21:00 – 22:00
London: 14:00 – 15:00
Mexico City: 08:00 – 09:00
New York City: 09:00 – 10:00
San Francisco: 06:00 – 07:00
Sydney: 23:00 – 00:00

Plenary – Inclusion

Introduction:
Ellen Sjoer, The Hague University

Keynote:
Michael Fors, Boeing

Panelists:
Michael Fors, Boeing
Ana Bárbara Garza, recently graduated from Tecnologico de Monterrey
Roberto Romero, RECLA
Valéria Csépe, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Jennifer Henry, 2U/Trilogy
Panel moderator: Dr. Patricia Caratozzolo Martelliti, Tecnologico de Monterrey

UTC+2: 16:00 – 16:15
Beijing: 22:00 – 22:15
London: 15:00 – 15:15
Mexico City: 09:00 – 09:15
New York City: 10:00 – 10:15
San Francisco: 07:00 – 07:15
Sydney: 00:00 – 00:15 (Sat)

Social networking function

UTC+2: 16:15 – 17:15
Beijing: 22:15 – 23:15
London: 15:15 – 16:15
Mexico City: 09:15 – 10:15
New York City: 10:15 – 11:15
San Francisco: 07:15 – 08:15
Sydney: 00:15 – 01:15 (Sat)

Parallell Session 3

Track 1: Innovation Chair: Ed Borbely

paper # 62 “Exploration and Practice based on TPACK On-the-job Development System for Teachers in Vocational Education.”
Qiannan Li, Beijing Institute of Technology
Hongjian Dong, Beijing Institute of Technology

paper # 51 “Strategies, practices and trends in continuing engineering education at scandinavian universities”
Bente Nørgaard, Aalborg University

paper # 39 “Sustainable learning communities in the Greenport”
Dr. Ellen Sjoer, The Hague University of Applied Sciences

Track 2: Sustainability Chair: Soma Chakrabarti

paper # 09 “They Live Happily Ever After” – Cultivating the Relationship between a Continuing Education Engineering Program and an Instructional Design Support Unit to Sustain and Expand Engineering Education Offerings
Wanju Huang, Purdue University
Bryan DeWitt, Purdue University

paper # 52 “Agile Learning in Further Education”
Joerg Longmuss, Sustainum – Institute for a sustainable economy Berlin

paper # 54 “Importance of Lifelong Learning in the Educational Ecosystem”
Aniko Kalman, Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Track 3: Inclusion Chair: Patricia Caratozzolo

paper # 34 “Challenge-based learning environments for the development of engineering skills”
Javier Sandoval, Tecnologico de Monterrey

paper # 24 “Women in Engineering and Science initiative: Raising awareness and monitoring gender equity”
Vianney Lara-Prieto, Tecnologico de Monterrey

UTC+2: 17:15 – 17:45
Beijing: 23:15 – 23:45
London: 16:15 – 16:45
Mexico City: 10:15 – 10:45
New York City: 11:15 – 11:45
San Francisco: 08:15 – 08:45
Sydney: 01:15 – 01:45 (Sat)

Visit exhibitors

UTC+2: 17:45 – 18:15
Beijing: 23:45 – 00:15
London: 16:45 – 17:15
Mexico City: 10:45 – 11:15
New York City: 11:45 – 12:15
San Francisco: 08:45 – 09:15
Sydney: 01:45 – 02:15 (Sat)

Posters
Chair: Kim Scalzo

View all posters

UTC+2: 18:15 – 19:15
Beijing: 00:15 – 01:15 (Sat)
London: 17:15 – 18:15
Mexico City: 11:15 – 12:15
New York City: 12:15 – 13:15
San Francisco: 09:15 – 10:15
Sydney: 02:15 – 03:15 (Sat)

Plenary Feedback Format

Chair: Yakut Gazi, Georgia Tech

“Automation-Proof Professional Education: The Role of Higher Education in Inclusive Lifetime Education”
Yakut Gazi
Georgia Tech Professional Education

“From global goals to practical implementation – innovative inclusion of employees and citizens, building a brand new municipality on the sustainable development goals”
Sofie Stenseng
Asker municipality

“Fourth Industrial Revolution and the risk of planned obsolescence in education”
Patricia Caratozzolo Martelliti
Tecnologico de Monterrey

“SERINA – A Corporate Education Model to Drive the SDGs”
Anthony Morris
Cahoot Learning

Closing remarks and adjourn

UTC+2: 19:15 – 19:30
Beijing: 01:15 – 01:30 (Sat)
London: 18:15 – 18:30
Mexico City: 12:15 – 12:30
New York City: 13:15 – 13:30
San Francisco: 10:15 – 10:30
Sydney: 03:15 – 03:30 (Sat)

Closing remarks and adjourn